Enter your keyword

Council Members


The Royal Astronomical Research Observation Society  is directed and managed by a Council whose members decided by elections held each year. RAROS is a charity under UK law, so the council members also serve as the legal trustees of the charity.

Details on the composition and responsibilities of the Council are given in the rules and guidelines. The President serves a two-year term; other members serve for between two and five years, depending on the position.

Below is a list of the current members of Council. Minutes of the Council meetings (six times a year) are provided at the foot of this page.


Years to serve are counted from the AGM held in May.
A = Astronomy (including cosmology, astrobiology, astrochemistry, astroparticle physics, computational astrophysics etc.)
G = Geophysics (including geophysical fluid dynamics, planetary sciences, solar-terrestrial physics etc.)
T = Telephone number
F = Fax number
E = Email address

Prof. Emma Bunce – President
Dr Mahesh Anand – VP, G
Dr Megan Argo – VP, A
Dr Paul A. Daniels – VP, A
Prof. Steve Miller – VP, G
Dr Nigel M Berman – Treasurer
Prof. Lyndsay Fletcher – Senior Secretary
Dr Mandy Bailey – Astronomy Secretary
Prof. Mark Lester – Geophysics Secretary
Professor William Chaplin
Dr Claire Foullon
Prof. Lorraine Hanlon
Mr Kevin Kilburn
Mr Martin Lunn
Dr Jane MacArthur
Dr Matthew Middleton
Dr Sheona Urquhart
Dr Hannah Dalgleish
Dr Arvind Parmar
Dr Colin Snodgrass
Prof. Phil Charles